October 19, 2021

Women’s Rugby Earth Cup: Scotland trio return for qualifier celebration

2 min read
Jade Konkel missed this year’s Six Nations to practice as a firefighter in London

Captain Rachel Malcolm is back again from a knee personal injury to direct Scotland at the Rugby Globe Cup Europe qualifier.

Harlequins duo Jade Konkel and Sarah Bonar also return right after missing the Six Nations due to perform commitments.

Scotland will perform Eire, Spain and hosts Italy in a spherical-robin structure, with all matches in Parma on 13, 19 and 25 September.

The winners clinch a World Cup location, while the runner-up will enter a ultimate qualification tournament.

Head coach Bryan Easson stated: “Squad range has been tricky as the gamers have truly stepped up to the mark in our recent schooling camps.

“In this spherical-robin match, each and every match counts and we know that we will have to hit the floor running.

“We are quite familiar with our opponents and we know that they will just about every existing really distinctive activity programs, but we firmly believe we have the means to adapt to just about every problem that may perhaps come up.”

England, Wales, France, Australia, South Africa, Canada, United States and Fiji are presently confident of areas, together with hosts and holders New Zealand, for the Planet Cup finals, which operate from 8 October-12 November, 2022.

Scotland squad

Forwards: Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning), Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park), Sarah Bonar (Harlequins), Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County), Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park), Katie Dougan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University), Evie Gallagher (Stirling County), Jade Konkel (Harlequins), Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning), Rachel McLachlan (Unattached), Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Lana Skeldon (Unattached), Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning, Molly Wright (Watsonians).

Backs: Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park), Megan Gaffney (Heriot’s), Sarah Legislation (Unattached), Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning), Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning), Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill), Liz Musgrove (Unattached), Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning), Chloe Rollie (Unattached), Rachel Shankland (Stirling County), Hannah Smith (Watsonians), Lisa Thomson (Unattached), Evie Wills (Stirling County).

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.